14 Jan 2011

Best practices award

Anyone want to nominate others for best practices in urban water management or communicating about urban water management issues?
The United Nations Office to Support the International Decade for Action "Water for Life" 2005-2015/UN-Water Decade Programme on Advocacy and Communication (UNW-DPAC) and the UN World Water Assessment Programme (WWAP) are pleased to invite you to submit your application for the 1st edition of the "Water for Life" Best Practices Award.

The purpose of the Award is to promote efforts to fulfill international commitments made on water and water-related issues by 2015 through recognition of outstanding best practices that can ensure the long-term sustainable management of water resources and contribute to the achievement of internationally agreed goals and targets contained in the Millennium Development Goals (MDGs), Agenda 21 and the Johannesburg Plan of Implementation.

The prize is awarded yearly in two categories, one in best water management practices and another one in best participatory, communication, awareness-raising and education practices.

Every year, special emphasis is being put on the theme selected for next World Water Day. In 2011, special focus is given to the topic "Urban Water Management". The prize will be awarded at a special ceremony on World Water Day, 22 March.
The deadline to submit is 30 Jan 2011.

I'd like to see a "worst practices" award go out too. I think there are a few competitors for that one.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: only a member of this blog may post a comment.